Chancellor announces members of Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on History and Context

Posted on Jul 31 2016 - 3:55pm by Jeffrey Vitter

Chancellor Jeffrey Vitter released this letter announcing the members of the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on History and Context last Thursday:

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 3.48.44 PM

Jeffrey  S. Vitter

Chancellor and
Distinguished Professor

July 28, 2016


On June 10, I wrote to you about the university’s important work related to history and context. That letter described how we are continuing our efforts to contextualize campus sites and buildings through the establishment of the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on History and Context.

The CACHC will have a two-part charge: The initial goal will be to recommend which Oxford campus sites should be contextualized, so as to explain the environment in which they were created or named. The committee will then be charged with designing content and format to contextualize the designated sites.

Criteria considered for CACHC membership included expertise in relevant subject matters, such as history, sociology, English, law, or race relations; a demonstrated track record of consensus building and collaborative efforts; a deep understanding of the UM community and culture; experience in commemoration and contextualization of historical sites; and a commitment to a process that is inclusive, respectful, civil, candid, and transparent, and that honors the UM Creed.

We don’t intend any single committee member to meet all the desired criteria, but collectively, the committee will possess these qualities and areas of expertise and will ensure that all voices are heard.

Through June 30, we received exceptional community input of nearly 100 nominations. After careful consideration and consultation, I am very pleased to announce the CACHC members:

Don Barrett, J.D.
Barrett Law Group

Donald R. Cole, Ph.D. (co-chair)
Assistant Provost and Assistant to the Chancellor for Multicultural Affairs
University of Mississippi

Rose Jackson Flenorl (co-chair)
Manager of Global Citizenship
FedEx Corporation

Jeffrey T. Jackson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
University of Mississippi

Shawnboda D. Mead
Director, Center for Inclusion and Cross Cultural Engagement
University of Mississippi

Andrew P. Mullins, Ph.D.
Professor of Education and Assistant Director, Mississippi Teacher Corps
University of Mississippi

John R. Neff, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History and Director, Center for Civil War Research
University of Mississippi

Austin Powell
President, Associated Student Body
University of Mississippi

Charles K. Ross, Ph.D.
Professor of History and Director of African-American Studies
University of Mississippi

David G. Sansing, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of History
University of Mississippi

Jennifer A. Stollman, Ph.D.
Academic Director, William Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliation
University of Mississippi

Anne S. Twitty, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
University of Mississippi

Jay Watson, Ph.D.
Professor of English
University of Mississippi

Jacquline A. Vinson
Project Coordinator, Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation
University of Mississippi

For more detailed biographical information on all the members, please visit the committee member section of the CACHC website.

Dr. Cole and Ms. Flenorl have graciously agreed to serve as co-chairs of the committee. I would particularly like to thank Drs. Cole, Mullins, Ross, and Sansing for their dedication and good work already completed on the contextualization of the Confederate statue in the Lyceum Circle, as well as for their willingness to continue serving on the CACHC.

The first meeting of the committee will take place at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 16, in Room 200 of the Lyceum. The committee will work during the upcoming academic year and employ a variety of methods to ensure transparency and broad community input. I encourage you to visit the CACHC website on a regular basis for updates and opportunities for input. You can also contact us at

Thank you to all who participated in the nomination process. I commend the members announced today for their willingness to serve on the CACHC and for their commitment to a respectful process informed by expertise and guided by the UM Creed. The committee will play an invaluable role in moving our great flagship university ever forward and ensuring that we are a welcoming place for all.


Chancellor Signature

Jeffrey S. Vitter

Lyceum 123 | Phone: (662) 915-7111 |