Final three aldermen to seek re-election

Posted on Feb 4 2013 - 7:00am by Lacey Russell

Three final aldermen have opted to seek re-election in the City of Oxford’s election this summer.

Janice Antonow of Ward 3, Alderman At-Large John Morgan and E.O. Oliver of Ward 2  filed as the last of seven aldermen currently representing the City of Oxford to seek re-election.

Qualification opened at the beginning of the new year.

Oxford Mayor Pat Patterson qualified in the first two days that residents could apply to seek re-election.

He was shortly followed by the qualification of Jason Bailey of Ward 6, Ulysses “Coach” Howell of Ward 4, Preston Taylor of Ward 5 and Ney Williams of Ward 1.

Howell will face Arnold Pegues, who is not currently on the board, in the election to represent Ward 4.

City Clerk Lisa Carwyle reported that incumbent Mayor Patterson is the only resident to qualify to seek election for the position.

The primary is May 7, followed by the runoff on May 21 and general election on June 4.