ASB executive candidates debate tonight at Overby Center

Posted on Feb 28 2018 - 8:01am by DM Staff Report

Candidates for the Associated Student Body executive officers will participate in a moderated debate tonight, presenting their platforms and answering questions. The debate will take place at 5:30 p.m. at the Overby Center.

The debate will be done in segments, having all of the candidates for each position on stage at the same time. Candidates will be asked direct questions from the moderator to answer.

Interfraternity Council President Bennett Wilfong will moderate tonight’s debate, asking prepared questions and questions submitted via a Google Survey that was posted to the Ole Miss ASB Facebook page and sent out to all ASB senators who have served in the past year.

Presidential candidates include Wister Hitt, Elam Miller, Emily Tipton and Dylan Wood. Walker Abel is running unopposed for vice president. Candidates for judicial chair are Alex Crouch and Bea Tisher. Austin Fiala and Katherine Sistrunk are running for attorney general, and Jonathan Cox is running unopposed for treasurer. No one is on the ballot for secretary.

See theDMonline for coverage of tonight’s debate and bios of the candidates, our Facebook page for live streaming and follow @thedm_news on Twitter for live updates during candidates’ remarks.