ASB Election Day guide

Posted on Apr 2 2019 - 5:50am by DM Staff Report

Ole Miss students will elect six new Associated Student Body executive leaders to the positions of president, vice president, judicial chair, attorney general, secretary and treasurer today. Fifty student senators will also be elected.  

Over the course of the past 16 days, The Daily Mississippian interviewed all 13 candidates running for executive office. Read our profiles here to learn more about them before heading to the polls to vote.

The three presidential hopefuls — Leah Davis, Tom Fowlkes and Barron Mayfield — also wrote short biographies explaining who they are and what they plan to accomplish if elected.

On March 25, the executive officer candidates participated in a debate hosted by representatives of student media. Candidates disagreed about student involvement, transparency and mental health.

Read our analysis of the debate here.

This is the first general election since the ASB Senate voted last April to lower the limits for candidates’ campaign budgets. The presidential candidates responded to the change.

Davis, Fowlkes and Mayfield also explained their differing histories and gaps in student government experience over their past three years on campus.

Students can vote online through their myOleMiss accounts between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Tuesday by opening the “Get Involved” tab and click on “Vote in Student Elections.” After you vote, don’t forget to get an ice-cold Coca-Cola or PepsiCo brand soft drink.